Pods or Airbox? - 83 GS750ED

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pods or Airbox? - 83 GS750ED

I removed my carbs today. Folks, this was one major league pain in the butt. I finally got the @#$%#'s out about 10 minutes ago. I started around 2 this afternoon (I did take a lot of time off). There is so very little room to work with it isn't funny. I figure putting the carb bank back is going to be even worse. This is my first attempt to clean out my carbs. I have the carb cleaning series all printed out and o-rings from Robert Barr (Thanks, Bob). I had heard removing the carbs was a big pain, so I wasn't shocked. I wasn't quite up to speed on how bad it was, however.
    I'm thinking about just chucking the airbox and going to pods.
    I have a Stage 1 and a Stage 3 jet kit that I picked up when they were on sale about a year ago. I figured on being prepared down the road. I'm not sure if I'm that far down the highway yet, but I know I'm real close.
    I'd appreciate any comments. Thanks.

Denis I for one am much happier with the pods.You will hear both sides but after you get your carbs in tune with the jet kits and pods you will be so much happier with the performance .and the ease in which you can pull the carbs if needed.I can pull mine in less than 5 minutes.

Comment

I agree that PODS are the way to go. It may take a while to get the jetting sorted out but once you do you'll have a bike that runs significantly better and stronger. The ease of maintenance is a huge bonus.

Joe
      IBA# 24077
      '15 BMW R1200GS Adventure
      '07 Triumph Tiger 1050 ABS
      '08 Yamaha WR250R