Compatibility question and a no start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Compatibility question and a no start

I have a 1983 GS650 Tempter and have been having some difficulty getting it started as of late. Okay, correction, it won't start. I replaced the battery after trickle charging. I have checked all connections and cleaned them. I have looked at my ground as well. The thing that happens is I simply get a click from the solenoid when I press my start button the majority of the time. The rest of the time I get the engine to turn over and over but not actually start. Then of course if I go to long the clicking ceases and everything ceases to work do to the draw. I was thinking possibly it was the r/r? My question is that I have a 1982 GS550 parts bike. I was looking at the r/r and they appear to be the same. I want to eventually replace this with a new one obviously, but will my 550 suffice for now? I am really new to the technical side of bikes so any help would be appreciated. Thanks guys.

If I understand you correctly, you think the R/R is the reason for the bike not starting? If so, I don't think this is correct. The regulator/rectifier is for the charging circuit and should not affect the bike starting. If your battery is charged you should be able to start it even if they were not installed. It sounds like you have a resistance in the starter circuit that is causing the problem. Check all connections from battery to starter solenoid, to starter motor. Check all grounds involved too - where starter is grounded and where battery is grounded. Try shorting across the starter solenoid with a old screwdriver to see if the starter motor works. Let me know how this works and we'll go from there.

Good luck,

Terry

Comment