Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

muffler change and powerband/mileage gain?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

muffler change and powerband/mileage gain?

wow, I finally have enought experience on my bike to feel a difference in power and handling when I modify stuff!! I'll say right now that I have no experience with performance enhancing mods, so catch me up like I know nothing, cause I do , don't. ?

so I did a pipes mod a year back, cut off an extra set of GS mufflers just where they weld on the cone and baffles. I added a washer on the end of the baffle pipes to restrict it some and threw on some turnout harley pipes.

I took the jets from 110 to 115 and thought I felt a gain in power. but it would idle pretty low, and just drop out if I didn't keep an eye on it at lights, etc.

they were quite loud, and only had one bent slant for a baffle. eventually my ears started to ring at night, so I've changed over to what I think would be some stock slipons from a harley. I found the entire header and pipes in the recycling bin so I have no solid idea what they are.

they are much more restrictive tho, and quieter. what I am noticing is that I am running at a lower RPM for my speed now, but I feel like it's a little choked off on the acceleration sometimes? also it idles right about 1500 most times, which is alright, as I have turned the idle up pretty high to account for the other pipes not holding it up at lights.

so I'm curious, what's happening here? I'm just looking for the theory side of it, the "if you do A, then B should result" stuff. just because I don't know the intricacies of our engines like you guys do in here.