Power

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Power

OK, This is deep, maybe to deep. I am just thinking out loud here, bear with me and think this out. Years ago I worked as a Yamaha Tech, when I was going to Devry. On their V-MAX bikes they had an induction system they called V-Boost. If the V-Boost system malfunctioned the bike was noticeably weaker in the upper mid-range and top end of the power band. I had to tear into several of these and had the opportunity to see the system in detail. Basically in the midrange say 5k a butterfly would open up and connect the runners of two cylinders where a single cylinder could draw through two carbs. Below the threshold each cylinder would run on its own (IR) individual runner where each cylinder had is't own carb, like the traditional IR Suzuki system. The performance improvment was big with the V Boost. Has any one seen this played with on any of the Suzuki engines. I know IR systems have distinct advantages over manifolds where several cylinders share a carb, like on a V8, but this V Boost offered a big kick in the azz. I don't want to repeat history, if someone has tried it on an inline 4 and it didn't work good enough to be worth while. I have a machine shop and I have been thinking about building one of these for a project this winter. Something tells me if this was the hot ticket I would see it on the drag strip. But every now and then something new drifts in and makes real power. I guess if you run a big enough carb it would diminish the V Boost. I don't Know if yamaha purposely ran a slightly undersized carb for low end, and relied on the V Boost for top end breathing, or if the carb was comparable to other performance bikes, and the extra breathing added power. I think I am going to pick up a set of the VMX carbs with the V Boost and study them a bit. It might be a little bit of magic, or a big waste of time and money.

the v boost system made the bike feel faster only.