'81 GS450L Cafe Project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

'81 GS450L Cafe Project

I am starting a rebuild to turn an '81 GS450L into a cafe racer. There's one problem, I live in a condo without a garage. Luckily I have two spare bedrooms and one has a back porch at ground level.

The GS450L when I brought it home:

I threw a set of clubman handle bars on it to see the cafe racer profile.

The first step is converting my study to be used as a motorcycle workshop. I moved some furniture out and laid down some plastic to protect the floor from any spills, accidents, etc.

This is my first time ever rebuilding a motorcycle or doing any fiberglass work, so if you have some pointers as I go feel free to post!

The Build Start:
    I wanted to start this build with trying to teach myself how to work with fiberglass (something I have never done.) I watched a lot of videos online about techniques and mold making before attempting this.

I went to Home Depot and picked up some R-10 foam board, carpenters wood glue, sand paper & sanding blocks, face masks to keep the dust out of my lungs, and a few other little things. All in all I spent about $40 at home depot for all of the supplies. I also picked up fiber glassing supplies after a lengthy talk with an employee at TAP Plastics, i ended up getting out of there with a small self-made fiber glassing kit for about $60.

It’s time to start cutting the foam to make a mold. I measured out the size I wanted my seat and rear tail to be and started cutting out a very rough shape.

Next I glued the tail section together and set a heavy can of resin mix on it to allow it to dry for 24 hours.

The glue setup nicely, so I started shaping it more trimming the edges a bit.
    I started sanding by hand (I prefer to sand by hand so I can move slowly and carefully, it’s also kind of relaxing)

That’s as much progress as I have made so far.