GS1000E "Borg Assimilation Machine"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS1000E "Borg Assimilation Machine"

Greetings and welcome to another under budgeted overzealous project. I have been collecting parts for a conversion/upgrade for a couple of years. I have a stock 1980 GS1000E. To date I have accumulated a complete 06' GSXR 600 frontend w/ controls, brakes, triple clamp and wheel. It didn’t come w/ an axle or wheel spacers. Picked up an 06' Katana rear wheel w/ hanger, caliper, rotor & control arm. Also have an 83' GS1100E Swing arm. Forgot to mention the 4 in to 1 header and the right hand exhaust can off a Hyabusa. My intention is to, first, upgrade the suspension on my GS1000. After that’s finished, I will consider an engine rebuild. I have
    a source for the upper bearing conversion-http://www.twfracing.com/zparts.html and a bargain at $45.00. One question I have is, has anybody tried to use a 90's GSXR speedo unit with a newer GSXR front end like mine? If so, how did you deal with the cable drive? Secondly, does anybody have a source for new speed / tach hands for say a 94' GSXR750W? This is actually a different project bike, but the information will come in handy. I hope to post pictures as my project moves along. Thanks & feel free to submit thoughts & technical recommendations. As an addendum, while I respect the purists, this IS MY BIKE, so keep that in mind!

I love how the old bikes look with modern wheels and suspension. Definitely will be following this one with interest as I would like to upgrade my bike as well sometime down the road.

Where in WA are you?

Comment

Yes yes yes and yes. Post pictures asap, this will be a good project.