1983 GS550L, rebuild?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1983 GS550L, rebuild?

Hello everyone. I can't tell you how happy I was to find such a good forum to go along with the free bike I picked up. I'm going to need your help for sure.

I picked up my 1983 GS550L about a month ago. I don't know it's history or when it was last running. There are 15,000 miles on the clock. Most everything was there, except the carbs which I picked up off ebay. The airbox door and side covers are missing too. After examination, I realized that the bike has been dropped multiple times, maybe crashed. There are scratches on the cases, bent levers, and a definite twist to the front forks.

I have never done any serious wrenching before and with this bike I am sure getting in over my head. I have the Clymer manual and downloaded the Suzuki manual from BassCliff's website. I'm slowly building up my collection of tools as I'm tearing into it and as I can afford them.

I'm approaching the project in stages. Step 1 is to get the bike cleaned and running. Step 2 is to get it road worthy. Step 3 is to make the bike pretty and set up the way I want it. I have a budget of about $500 for each stage. If I run out of money, or run into something that cant be fixed I'll part it out. The priority is for me to learn, a running bike is secondary.

My plan for step 1: clean the carbs, adjust the valves, fab a door for the airbox, change the oil.
    Step 2: The front forks are my primary concern. I'm not sure how straight they are. The brake is siezed and I really don't like the buck horn style bars anyhow. Maybe a fork swap is in order.
    Step 3- not sure what I want yet.