Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Street Bike Project - with a few questions

Hello all,

I recently decided to take on a street bike project for the first time. I'm mostly a dirt guy but wanted to try something a little different and maybe I'll even keep it afterwards as a tool around town ride. Anyway, I picked up a fairly well used 1982 GS550M. It's got 27k miles on it and would not fire when I bought it. Owner was not interested in trying to fix it so I gave him $380 to take it off his hands. After testing some of the electronics and charging the battery, I found a bad fuse. Changed that out and viola' she at least would turn over although she wouldn't start. So I've got the carbs off and after looking at the needles, I can tell they need some love so new needles and o-rings are on order. Since I've never done one of these before, please execuse my stupid questions.

1) Compression on all cylinders is 110 to 120 lbs/sq in. In your experience, is this ok for this bike or will I need to do a top end rebuild?

2) does anyone know where I can get the tank and side panel stickers or emblems for this model?

3) it appears a PO had jacked the choke on this bike and I have no idea how the choke is operated. Is it via cable on the handlebar (which side?) or some other method?

4) the clutch requires quite a bit of force to pull in. Is that normal for this bike and if not, what would cause a heavy clutch pull?

Any other initial advice would be welcomed. Me and my son are really looking forward to this project. We really like the lines of this particular model.

Great site and thanks in advance!

Sci85
    Last edited by Sci85; 11-28-2011, 09:37 PM. Reason: Changing thread title to accurately reflect content.
    1982 GS550M Rebuilt Winter '12 - 550 to 673cc engine conversion.
    1989 Kawasaki ZX-7 Ninja
    2016 Ducati Scrambler Full Throttle