Rich's 81' GS450 cafe / fighter build.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rich's 81' GS450 cafe / fighter build.

Hey everyone, recently I acquired a 81 GS450 for $400. I have been wrenching on cars for just about 15 years as a hobby and have gone so far as building a complete turbo system from scratch for a naturally aspirated car. In the past I've owned a bobbed Honda Rebel, and a Ducati Monster. I love the rebels simplicity and vintage look, but miss the ducati's torque and power. My goal is to somehow get the best of both worlds. I want to build a hybrid, a bike with a vintage look while adding as much modern technology as I can afford.

I've started stripping her down and cutting off tabs, need to pull the motor, remove the tank getting the bare frame and give it a good cleaning.

Good luck on the build, this should be interesting

Comment

I'll follow along on this one

That looks like an L (can't remember what your intro thread said) but it looks like it has an E/S front end on it... what size rim is on the front?

The reason I point that out is that if it's the E/S front end, you can probably do the Salty Monk brake upgrade with the single disc to have a Kawasaki twinpot caliper on there if you're looking at those sorts of modifications.
      1982 GS450E - The Wee Beastie
      1984 GSX750S Katana 7/11 - Kit Kat - BOTM May 2020

sigpic

450 Refresh thread: https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...-GS450-Refresh

Katana 7/11 thread: http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...84-Katana-7-11

Comment

Originally posted by extremez31 View Post