X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1978 GS 550 Project :)

PICS OR IT DIDN'T HAPPEN?

Hello everyone!

My names Joe, this is my first project motorcycle. I recently was given this beauty for free. This was taken about last month... I absolutely love the looks and style of this bike. It has about 25,000 miles on it and runs like a champ. I was expecting to have to clean and rebuild the carbs, but as for right now she runs good enough!
    I run an Autobody shop for a living and my passion is with Volkswagens. I have a big Scirocco Project that I've been building for a couple of months now.

A pair of Weber 45 Sidedrafts <3

As you can see I like Carbs

So I plan on doing a cafe style restoration. I bought some single stage paint already from my jobber. I'm planning on keeping it simple, new bars, new seat and painting my tank/side panels and seat. I decided on my color Porsche GT3 Orange code " 8C6 "

I love the color... I've been reading a lot on this website. I'm learning a lot about this bike, and currently enjoying myself.

is the seat I'm pretty sure I'm going to order.

Also bar ideas are up in the air right now. Anybody have some examples they can share with me?
    I'm going to be constantly updating this thread with updates and questions, hopefully I'll entertain you all!

I have a strong backround in paint and powdercoating. So hopefully I can make this bike nice!

For a minute there I thought you were going to try and slip that volks engine in the bike...........now that would have been interesting

I like the tracker style so I'll be watching with interest. Bars wise I believe there are some out there termed 'flat track"bars which look much like what you are using only lowering down the hand control area a couple of inches. Actually a lot of guys go with Renthal style bars (or similar) for dirt bikes. I guess it depends on your body size and reach.

Looking forward to seeing what you do with her.

Good luck and keep the pics coming.

Cheers,