Newb Project!: gs1100gk....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newb Project!: gs1100gk....

Ok, kinda new to the gs world. Raised on bikes, It's been entirely too long since I said goodbye to my baby (k6 gsxr1000) and it feels awesome to finally have a bike again.

Picked this poor thing up fairly cheap, but it needs a LOT of work. since i'm a gs newb y'all will get a fair share of random questions out of me, such as my current ones....what wheel options are out there for the shaftie crowd? and (now this is honest even though I probably already know the answer) Is the rake different than on the 1100e models?

I come from a racing back ground so any weight i can save excites me, any suggestions on that are welcome(i know it's going to weigh almost as much as my ex wife regardless). And any known common issues to look out for are also welcome.

The goal for this project is a modern/classic cafe hybrid look (in my head it looks awesome). And I always love more power.

I plan on just getting the bike ridable, legal, and reliable for now, and doing the minor work throughout the summer, then stripping and painting when the snow flies.

I'll post pics as soon as I get then hosted somewhere....

welcome, Pic's? And a location in the sig would be cool. lottsa GK lovers here, I own oone now , and am going to go thru it entirely over time while riding it, soooo smooth and comfy and gives confidence while riding, and the wife loves it.

Comment

still haven't got pics hosted, slacking I know....but a little update. got the front fairing and saddle bags, and luggage rack ripped off. Exhaust had some serious issues, preplaced header bolts and welded exhaust back together. started sanding down tank, next is to get headlight mounted and turn signals, hopefully i'll have it on the road legally soon.

Comment

ok, finally got a few pics up. they do this thing way too much justice, it's much more heinous in person.

Comment