GS400 rebuild in Australia

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS400 rebuild in Australia

I saved a '79 GS400 from the scrap yard about a year ago. I'm a novice but can follow a workshop manual, so after a bit of work and help from this community I got her back on the road. The engine is tired, smokey and is basically running on one cylinder with poor compression, I've known that eventually I would need to open up the engine if she was to have any real chance of survival. So today, I tore down the whole engine. Over the next two weeks I will borrow some tools to take all the correct measurements and work out which parts need replacing, so far the only clear issue is a collapsed bearing on 6th gear.

I'm toying with the idea of buying all my parts from the US in one go (I'm in Australia), I suspect it will be cheaper than trying to get local stock. I'll obviously need a complete gasket and seal kit but since I'm elbow deep in the engine I'll do piston rings, clutch plates and usual bearings. Which website is the bees knees for buying the parts I need?

Cheers

The GS400 is a great bike, it was my first road bike in 1978 after many years of two stroke trail bikes.

Buying local or overseas can be a mixed bag from my experience. I've done both successfully.

Suzuki Australia spares are based in Melbourne and ships to dealers in capital cities overnight.

The price variation can be up to 100% on some overseas suppliers but not much difference on certain parts, so get a quote.

Obviously shipping and volume is an issue as well as the recent drop in the Aussie $.

Some pattern parts from www.wemoto.com in the UK should also be considered as they credit you the 20% VAT on their prices shipped overseas. Very good reproduction indicators and good prices on exhaust gaskets and other minor exhaust peripherals.

Stick to OEM for certain critical parts such as head and base gaskets as well as brake seals etc.

Don't compromise safety for cost.