iChambers GS750L Project build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

iChambers GS750L Project build

Hey Everybody, I'm glad to have come across this forum since recently buying my 1979 GS750L. I find forums to be one of the best sources for collective knowledge on a any specific subject. I hope to glean what I can from the members here and hopefully contribute some knowledge or creativity here as well.

To introduce myself a bit, I am a product designer and recently started working in the motorcycle industry but mostly with Harley aftermarket parts. I design new accessories and help give guidance to evolving products as well.

Ok so on to the bike and build. The bike as previously stated is a 1979 GS750L and had mid 20,000 miles on it when I bought it, or at least that is what the stock speedo reads. It was kept in pretty good stock condition. Here is the picture as it was when i bought it.

I am not a super fan of the big sissy bar attempt a a cruiser chopper that suzuki made on this bike. I will be building this bike to be a more sporty but practical build, as i will be using it for occasional work transportation and to ride to local shows and occasionally on weekends for fun.

First this was to get a better par of bars that didn't make me feel as much like a parachute. I also removed the sissy bar. Performance wise I have installed a pair of Progressive suspension 412 shocks with 13"springs to keep the stock height and reinvigorate the rear suspension.

I am a bit on the vertically challanged side at 5' 5" and wanted a lower seat height. Rather than do any major chopping I found that a early sportster seat fits up to the 750L frame nicely. I got a Burly Brand Brat seat 2 up version. The only modification required was to grind of the front stock seat mounting hook, fab a quick tab for the seat to hook into and drill o single hole in the rear fender for a bolt to mount the seat.