Bringing a 1981 GS1100E back to life.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bringing a 1981 GS1100E back to life.

Hello all. First post here. I got this 1981 gs1100e for a song and I'd like to document the rebuild in this thread. This is my first project bike that I have owned (I've worked over some vintage bikes that belonged to friends) and I'm real excited to work through this thing.
    IMG_19771.jpg
    Here's what I knew/had when I left the seller: the bike has been sitting for a long time and the fella that I bought it from never tried to get it running. My seller was told by his seller that it had been jumping time (more on that later). The intake boots had been plugged with rags, but the header was disconnected and the exhaust ports were not plugged on the engine. The bike came with a 4-1 exhaust with a Kerker muffler. Also installed was a Lockhart oil cooler. There are some 1" superbike bars haphazardly thrown on, so the front brake lever assembly and the clutch lever assembly do not fit, as they appear to fit only 7/8" bars. The VIN on the crankcase does not match the VIN on the neck, although the engine is also a 1981. Top end is marked 1074 or 1075 c.c. - I'm forgetting which right now.

Here's what I'm missing: carbs, airbox, starter, battery, keys, headlight, turn signals, right footpeg, starter cover, primary sprocket cover, controls and mirrors.

I've gotten her home, and since those exhaust ports had been exposed and unplugged, I pulled the engine, tore off the top end and all of my side covers. Overall, the engine was nearly dry - probably not more than a cup of oil that I could see. From visual inspections, I'd say I've uncovered some good things and some bad things (maybe not bad, just concerns). I took plenty of pictures of the teardown, and I will share these and my thoughts in another post/posts.