trailer set up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

trailer set up

Anyone ever build or pull a trailer set up? I was wondering where to start with the fabricating. I was thinking maybe I'd start with a "U" joint set up. Thoughts?

Plan what you want, but there is no sense in re-inventing the wheel. A well-braced standard ball setup works very well. There are even swivel assemblies available, but I have not found the need for them. Just a little bit of experience behind that, I have been pulling a trailer since 1978.

Comment

Mobile home axles used to be easy to find and cheap.
      http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...tatesMap-1.jpg

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Originally posted by tkent02 View Post
        Mobile home axles used to be easy to find and cheap.
        wouldn't that be a little heavy behind a bike? lol

Comment

Oh I thought you meant to carry bikes.

Comment

Originally posted by shameless View Post
            Anyone ever build or pull a trailer set up?
            Every time I see one I think bad idea. Straight and flat at 55 maybe OK. Rough road, twisty. or accident avoidance cant be good.
            82 1100 EZ (red)

"You co-opting words of KV only thickens the scent of your BS. A thief and a putter-on of airs most foul. " JEEPRUSTY

Comment

I custom built a trailer and hitch (if you call it that) for my Hayabusa. This year I am hoping to convert it over to my 850. My plan will be to extend the muffler mounts as a lower mounting point for the hitch. Then I am planning on using the upper shock mount or possibly the vetter luggage rack as the upper mount to support the tongue weight of the trailer.
              I decided to build it to save some money but by the time it was finished (for now) it did not save me near as much as I thought. One huge advantage mine does have is empty weight is only 55 lbs.