Into the deep end with an 82' gs1100e

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Into the deep end with an 82' gs1100e

Good evening everyone! So, this is my first post in what looks to be a long drawn out learning experience that I hope to have wrapped up by mid summer 2019.

A little backstory: I have been riding on and off since college (about 12 years), and just recently in the last two years, really fell in love with a bike. It is a 2008 Yamaha FZ1. It does everything I want, with power and comfort. Well, I had some space in my basement and got the itch to add another bike as a project. At first, I was hung up on a Honda CW 500, but I am a big guy and as soon as I sat on one, I thought I would crush it. LOL. Anyway, I was perusing craigslist and came across a local guy selling his GS 1100E. One thing lead to another, and one great deal later, I was proud new owner of a running riding vintage piece of cool-as-hell. I threw some new rubber on her, changed the oil, and put on 1500 miles in a few months. I absolutely fell in love! As much fun as I was having, I bought it as a winter project, so I parked it a few weeks ago and started pulling stuff apart. I had a rough idea of where I wanted this to go, but as things shifted in my mind, and I knew what I actually wanted out of the bike, my end game is pretty much solidified.

I got a great deal on a swing arm from a 98' 1200 Bandit, and a beautiful set of USD forks off of a 92' GSXR 1100, which came with 6 piston Tokicos. Well, the forks came in, as did the rebuild kit for them, and I got the calipers off. UGH!!! They were in TERRIBLE disrepair. Spending about 1.5 hours a night for 4 nights, I got the calipers cleaned up, and awaiting a rebuild kit that a buddy of mine is taking out of the tokicos he just rebuilt about 100 miles ago before he unexpectedly switched over to Nissens on his ZRX. He is giving me pistons, all seals, hardware, titanium bleed nipples, springs, pads, and pins.