Molasses???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Molasses???

I've used all sorts of rust removers like acids, evapo-rust, and electrolysis. I like evapo-rust a lot because of how safe it is. But since i have not been able to find it in any of my local stores i've had to order it online which costs 50 bucks for 2 gallons. Being a college student i dont have a bunch of money lying around so i've been looking for safe rust removers on the cheap, one thing i've found while researching is using 1 part molasses and 3 parts water. has anyone ever heard or tried using this on things such as gas tanks and rusting crome? I think i'm going to try it out on a random piece of rusty metal to see how well this works if at all.

coca cola will take off rust
    as will lots of other soda products

washing it off after could re-create the rust
    Keith
    -------------------------------------------
    1980 GS1000S, blue and white
    2015Triumph Trophy SE

Ever notice you never see a motorcycle parked in front of a psychiatrist office?

Comment

It's called "the must for rust" in a white spray bottle with silver lettering. phosphoric acid which is great.

Comment

Go the molasses. The guys that restore old machinery (tractors, farm engines etc) swear by it. Just soak it for a few days and the rust will disappear.

Comment

I just picked up some Evapo-Rust from Tractor Supply,about 15 a gallon.
          http://i632.photobucket.com/albums/u...00080021-1.jpg
          1978 GS1000C
          1979 GS1000E
          1980 GS1000E
          2004 Roadstar

Comment

when I did my tank, (on a very tight student budget) I used Muriatic acid, used for etching/cleaning concrete and stone. it is not quite as strong as Phosphoric acid, but it is a little safer, and about 4$/quart.

After you have used the acid, rinse the surface with minerial spirits.

Comment