DIY - Starter Repair

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DIY - Starter Repair

Photos now added Basscliff and other aggregators are welcome to copy this information with credit. I welcome any feedback or corrections, as I am not an electronics expert.

This is the second time I have seen this problem and done this repair with good results. (on two different starters!)

Symptom:
    Starter either feels extremely weak or has stopped spinning entirely. Sucks current and feels like a dead battery even though you know it's good.

Cause:
    Magnets broke off case inside starter.

Starter removal:

Similar but varies depending on your bike. This will almost always require removing the carbs. The bike for this project was an 82 GS650GL. In this case, pulling the carbs is done by loosening all the boot clamps & intermediate airbox, and pulling back as far as possible to free the carbs in the front first by tilting up, then the back by tilting down. TIP: on CV's usually the accelerator cable bracket can be removed before trying to slide the carbs out. This makes life much easier. Note only remove the bracket, not the accelerator cable itself. This comes off after the carbs are partway out. On re-installation, remember to put the accelerator cable back on before you slide the carbs in or you will never get it back on. Slide the carbs out, release the cable. Now we can actually get to the starter.

2-3 bolts hold the cover on, then there should be two bolts on the back of the starter and the not holding on the power wire. Be careful freeing the power wire. Hold on to the wire so the post doesn't spin. this doesn't always happen, but does sometimes. If it does, you could spin the tower enough to rip the wire it is attached to.

That's it, just pull it out. Nothing more to it.

Starter disassembly:

Remove the two long screws.

Carefully pull apart the starter, and you will get:

Front cover(shown still attached to body)