Strange Front brake problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Strange Front brake problem

Hello. I have a strange problem with my front brake. Whenever the outside temperature is warm/hot, my front brake lever won't compress until I bleed just a little fluid out. In the mornings, or when it's cold out all is well. I read somewhere that there is a liner in the brake hose that can collaspe when it's old. I replaced the hose, but the problem is still there. Anybody have any experience with this problem?

When was the last time you replaced the brake fluid and cleaned out the master cylinder?

Comment

I replaced the pads last May when I started riding it daily. I drained the old fluid then and cleaned the master cylinder too. In the last year I've run several bottles of fluid thru the system with the almost daily bleeding to free-up the lever. When I replaced the brake line several months ago I did it all again. I'm leaning towards getting a master rebuild kit. Maybe there's a seal failure or something. There's not alot to the system; the master cylinder, lines, and caliper. I went over the caliper when I did the pads, it looked fine and works perfect.

Comment

I would take the MC apart, inspect and clean it. There is a small port in the MC that is prone to clogging. You can use a single wire from a wire brush to clean it out. Rebuild kits are not too expensive.

Comment

I'll try that. Thanks for the help.

Comment

Originally posted by almarconi View Post
            I would take the MC apart, inspect and clean it. There is a small port in the MC that is prone to clogging. You can use a single wire from a wire brush to clean it out. Rebuild kits are not too expensive.

What he said.