Rebuilding front caliper

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rebuilding front caliper

My front brakes wont release after while riding, causing me to have to crack the brake bleeder to release the pressure. I have searched and it is likely the return line clogged by chunks. I have flushed the system with new fluid until it ran clear. The return hole that is in question, is it the smaller of the two visible holes when the cover is off? The masters are square type all alum from an '82.
    Now, I have a spare front master cylinder that I am trying to take apart and clean/inspect/rebuild.
    I have taken the c-clip out, now there is what looks like a washer behind the c-clip that wont move and the piston wont come out. I have soaked it for a day in brake fluid, and still no-go. Is there a secret to removing that washer.

Thats a tough one, I just had the same thing happen and ended up replacing it with one I had lying around. The piston is obviously seized , you might try and soak the whole thing in PB blaster overnight and see if that frees it up.

Comment

Originally posted by jwhelan65 View Post
      Thats a tough one, I just had the same thing happen and ended up replacing it with one I had lying around. The piston is obviously seized , you might try and soak the whole thing in PB blaster overnight and see if that frees it up.
      It moves in and out fine and pumps fluid out so I dont think it is seized. But, there was rust on the c-clip, I am thinking maybe the washer thing is rusted in I would use wd-40 or something but I read to only use brake fluid on these parts. I am kind of a brake system nub.

Comment

Originally posted by gearhead13 View Post
        It moves in and out fine and pumps fluid out so I dont think it is seized. But, there was rust on the c-clip, I am thinking maybe the washer thing is rusted in I would use wd-40 or something but I read to only use brake fluid on these parts. I am kind of a brake system nub.