Changing Steering Head Bearings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Changing Steering Head Bearings

So after searching I think I understand how to get the actual steering head bearings out - essentially using a Dremel to cut through the race and then some kind of a punch or something to knock out the old bearings.

But, are the following steps the process I would use to do so?
    • Brace and lift front of the bike
    • Remove forks - I'd be changing out the springs and seals too
    • Remove the triple clamps?
    • Knock out bearings?
    • Install new ones - getting them from Z1 so do I need to grease them?
    • Insert forks, wheel and lower front end?

What am I missing? How much time should I give myself for all of it seeing as how this is my first time? Are there any other tools I need to buy to do this? I'd hope not as I want to get my front end done before Brown County.

Thanks all
    Cowboy Up or Quit. - Run Free Lou and Rest in Peace

1981 GS550T - My First
    1981 GS550L - My Eldest Daughter's - Now Sold
    2007 GSF1250SA Bandit - My touring bike

Sit tall in the saddle Hold your head up high
    Keep your eyes fixed where the trail meets the sky and live like you ain't afraid to die
    and don't be scared, just enjoy your ride - Chris Ledoux, "The Ride"

You have it described to a tee. Apart from sometimes you have to beat the hell out of the old bearings to shift them.
    79 GS1000S
    79 GS1000S (another one)
    80 GSX750
    80 GS550
    80 CB650 cafe racer
    75 PC50 - the one with OHV and pedals...
    75 TS100 - being ridden (suicidally) by my father

Comment

You can build a press to press them in. Park tools makes one for bicycles but I've made one out of wood and a bolt between each piece to tighten down and press them in. Whenever I use grease I use the white axle grease from napa with zero problems.