question about rim fittament

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

question about rim fittament

first off, hello all! this forum looks like a great resource and i look forward to meeting & talking with the lot of you.

i have a question regarding wheel fittament on a 1977 suzuki GS 750.

i plan on purchasing one either this evening or tomorrow evening but it has mag rims and i plan on giving it a classic café/bobber hybrid type look so i'm hoping to get some spoke rims that i'm going to clean up and powder coat black.

i have been searching around craigslist for some and have come across spoke rims off other bikes and i'm curious as to how universal the wheel fittament actually is?

i found some off a 1980 xs 650, would those fit?

also, please bear in mind that i'm a total noob to motorcycles, but, you have to start somewhere, right?

Thank a lot!

Greetings and Salutations!!

Hi Mr. gmoore,

Sorry I can't help you with your wheel fitment. There are many other here who can though. I know there were contemporary models of GS bikes that came with spoke rims that should fit. But I would first suggest that, being a novice motorcyclist, you first learn how to properly care for and maintain your motorcycle in stock form. Once you are familiar with the theory and operation, all the necessary tasks and responsibilities, etc, then you can start your modifications and fabrications. I think it just may be easier for you that way. I hope you don't mine me sharing my 2 cents.

Anyway, let me dump a TON if information on you and share some GS lovin'.

I just stopped by to welcome you to the forum in my own, special way.

If there's anything you'd like to know about the Suzuki GS model bikes, and most others actually, you've come to the right place. There's a lot of knowledge and experience here in the community. Come on in and let me say "HOoooowwwDY!"....