What is wrong with my brakes??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What is wrong with my brakes??

As some of you may know, I'm restoring/rebuilding an '82 GS1100G. As part of this I have rebuilt the brakes and am trying to bleed the front brakes. I have a brand new Suzuki master cylinder, new Goodridge stainless braided lines and bolts and have blasted and powdercoated the calipers in black. I have cleaned everything scrupulously and have new pads in place. I replaced all the seals and boots. In fact the seals were installed by a Suzuki tech who just happens to be a brake expert, having worked in a brake shop for years! I was having trouble with them...

So I'm bleeding the brakes as I have done in the past, but I have never bled a system with two calipers off the same cylinder, if that makes any difference. I have bled both calipers until no air bubbles are visible and locked off the bleed nipples. Even though there is just enough pressure to light up the new hydraulic brake light there seems to be very little pressure on the lever. I seriously doubt it would be safe to ride. It is easy to pull the lever to the grip.

I have inspected all over. All the banjo bolts are tight and all have the crush washers each side. I can't find any leaking fluid anywhere. Why don't I have any pressure on the lever? To bleed I squeeze the lever, hold it while I release the bleed screw a little, some fluid comes out and down my clear line and I tighten the screw again before releasing the lever. I can't see any bubbles in the fluid.

Thanks guys!