Total Suspension newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Total Suspension newbie

I just purchased some rear Emgo shocks via the newmotorcycleparts.com website for my 81 GS650E.

I installed the shocks using the "bigger hole" rubber inserts. I hope that term is right as I am a complete newbie to motorcycle suspension.

As soon as I took it off the center stand I noticed a difference, the bike sits a little higher, I can get both tip toes down when sitting before I could get all my toes and portion of foot.

I went for a ride and it felt pretty good, but I THINK It feels like the rear end is almost going to come out on some turns. The rear end feels loose. Kind of scares me..Also my front forks dive hard whenever I touch the front brakes, they are probably shot as I doubt they have been changed since stock.

What is the little tool thing that comes with the shocks? It looks like a little hook with an end on it. I am sure it adjusts the shock, but I have no idea how.

You bought shocks with extremely strong springs, they will break your ass and make the bike handle like crap as you have discovered. Use that hook shaped tool to loosen the preload all the way, it might help a little bit. The front springs are likely sagged and much too soft when compared to the super hard springs you now have on the rear, it will handle crappy until you get the spring rates matched a little better. There are all types of springs and spring rates available. Do some research on here before buying any more stuff.

Edit, I see you did ask and were told the Emgo shocks were crap.

Enjoy the harsh ride and out of control bike you earned by saving a buck or two.
    Last edited by tkent02; 05-25-2012, 02:27 PM.
    [IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v516/Tkent02/VisitedStatesMap-1.jpg[/IMG]

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Originally posted by tkent02 View Post