rear brake problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

rear brake problems

Ok, so I'm still very new to motorcycles so forgive me in advance if these are stupid questions but I can't seem to find the right answers searching in the forums.. Recently I took the rear wheel off of my '78 750E for the first time to have the tire replaced and to change the sprockets and chain. Everything went smooth until it came time to put the wheel back on and the disk wouldn't fit in the caliper. Looked on the forums and came to the conclusion of taking every rear brake part off; caliper, lines, MC, and replacing all that i couldn't just clean up. I put everything back on and it fits better but still no dice. In the pic you can see the brake disk wont fit evenly in the middle of the caliper and the right pad drags. I've checked all the spacers to make sure they were in the right order and I'm pretty sure I'm not missing any. Also the brake pedal has locked up. I've tried tapping out the rod but it just won't budge and I don't want to use too much force in fear of messing up the grooves that hold the pedal in place. These seem like they would be somewhat easy fixes if I could figure out how to resolve the problem and spending $$$ at a shop isn't really an option. Thanks for your time

the only real explanation i can see is that there is a mix up in the spacers somewhere. i know you say you have checked and think they are all correct but i suggest you remove the wheel again and recheck all the spacers are in the correct places.
    if you have a manual then refer to that or if not refer to an on line fiche picture showing which spacers go where.
    1978 GS1085.

Just remember, an opinion without 3.14 is just an onion!

Comment

Yup I agree, looks like a misplaced spacer. Surprised you got it on at all. How big was the hammer? lol
      sigpicMrBill Been a GSR member on and off since April 2002
      1980 GS 750E Bought new in Feb of 1980
      2015 CAN AM RTS