New MC - Need to bleed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New MC - Need to bleed

I just picked up a used front Master Cylinder for my 1983 GS1100ED. So I took off the grungy, leaking old one, and replaced it with the "new" one. So I thought I could do a gravity bleed at the banjo bolt, in order to ascertain the condition of the new MC, to be followed by a fluid flush at a later date.

Problem is that no fluid is going through. When I did my Ducati Clutch master/slave, I was able to do a gravity bleed.

Why can't I do the same on my GS1100?

Thanks so much for reading.

Use a mighty vac if available and ever so slightly wiggle the lever. Wiggling will let little air bubbls escape out them fluid return hole.

Some auto parts places with tool rentals will have the brake bleeders.
    MY BIKES..1977 GS 750 B, 1978 GS 1000 C (X2)
    1978 GS 1000 E, 1979 GS 1000 S, 1973 Yamaha TX 750, 1977 Kawasaki KZ 650B1, 1975 Honda GL1000 Goldwing, 1983 CB 650SC Nighthawk, 1972 Honda CB 350K4, 74 Honda CB550

NEVER SNEAK UP ON A SLEEPING DOG..NOT EVEN YOUR OWN.

I would rather trust my bike to a "QUACK" that KNOWS how to fix it rather than a book worm that THINKS HE KNOWS how to fix it.

Comment

If you're pumping and no fluid is moving out of the reservoir and into the line, the MC needs to be primed first. See this: http://members.dslextreme.com/users/...-ends.html#A04

In theory, you should be able to bleed the system just by pumping the brake lever and manipulating the bleeder screw as necessary. In reality, this sometimes doesn't get all of the air out and you need a source of vacuum to draw the fluid through the system faster than it can be moved by pumping the lever.

Chuck mentioned the mighty vac but if you're cheap like I am, you may be able to get the job done with a $1 large medical syringe: http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=205846
      Charles
      --
      1979 Suzuki GS850G

Read BassCliff's GSR Greeting and Mega-Welcome!

Comment