Changing GS650GL Shocks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Changing GS650GL Shocks

What's up GS community? This is my first time posting, and if it's a bit of an amateurish question, I apologize.

I just recently bought a 1982 Suzuki GS650GL, and I need some input on the suspension. I'm trying to decide if I should get longer rear shocks for my bike to raise it a bit. However, due to it being a shaft-drive, there is that lingering concern where it might damage my bike because the drive shaft will be reset at a slightly different angle. GS650GL's have 12.5in shocks, but a normal GS650G has 13.5in shocks. Don't these two bikes share the same structural frame, with minor tank/seat differences, since they're just sub-models? Doesn't that mean 13.5in shocks will work on my bike? Thanks!

At a guess I would say you're right....

There might be slightly more stress at the extreme of the shock extension but I shouldn't think it will be at the limits... Try it & see
    1980 GS1000G - Sold
    1978 GS1000E - Finished!
    1980 GS550E - Fixed & given to a friend
    1983 GS750ES Special - Sold
    2009 KLR 650 - Sold - gone to TX!
    1982 GS1100G - Rebuilt and finished. - Sold
    2009 TE610 - Dual Sporting around dreaming of Dakar..... - FOR SALE!

www.parasiticsanalytics.com

TWINPOT BRAKE UPGRADE LINKY: http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...e-on-78-Skunk/

Comment

Greetings and Salutations!!

Hi Mr. hoburger,

Raising the back end will quicken up the steering. I believe the stock shock length for your bike is 325mm (about 12.75 inches). So installing 330mm or 335mm (about 13 - 13.2 inches) would be my recommendation. Any more than that might be too weird and twitchy.

Now let me hit you with the "mega-welcome". Reading all the information in all the links will save you lots of time and money, cure baldness, make you taller, cure insomnia, and turn you into a chick magnet. Seriously.