Progressive spring install issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Progressive spring install issue

Ok I'm ready to add the fork oil to my 81 GS1100E forks. Progressive install instructions say to fill 140 mm from top. Problem, these forks have the air block hole in fork. Suzuki manual says fork oil level to be 216 mm which is below the air block hole. Ok, but progressive instruction say that their springs displace more oil than stock springs. Not sure what to do ? Add oil to 216 mm, but will displacement cause oil to come out of air block hole? Anyone have this issue ?

Doesn't it mention something along the lines of - 140mm if the factory manual recommends less distance to top - and factory manual if greater than 140mm?

Mine are on my 450 though so I've no experience with this air block you speak of!

Comment

Yes it does mention that, at 140 mm the oil level will be above my air block hole in fork and run out, I need the proper amount of oil from stock level to account for difference in spring displacement mentioned in instructions.

Comment

Or I should say the max is 140 mm , so I will probably put oil in to about 240 mm, put spring in and make sure oil level does not go over 140 mm from top of tube. Only way I figure to do this.

Comment

Oil flies all around inside when you hit bumps. It's all over the place. As the forks compress, so does the air, as the air compresses the oil moves toward the top anyway. This is why the level is critical, the compressing air acts as an additional spring to prevent bottoming. Less air space, more spring effect. More air space, less spring effect, more mottoming out. The oil won't go anywhere, it can't run out, the air block is closed off unless you are adding or removing air. With proper springs you won't be using any additional air anyway.

I'd start with what the spring maker recommends, see how it rides, and adjust from there.
          Last edited by tkent02; 05-11-2014, 01:11 PM.