Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1982 gs750 front brakes and suspension

Hey all!!! A couple quick questions...

1) Hypothetical: What would happen of a 16MM bore master cylinder was put on the single disc brake setup? I imagine that would make the feel stiffer and the action quicker, but I just don't know how much.

2) What all do I need to do a dual disc brake conversion on the front? Just the bottom of the fork leg and a caliper and rotor?

As you might surmise, I have a spare master cylinder laying around that I wouldn't mind putting to good use!
    Sorry if this is stuff that y'all have answered before. I just can't really find these specific answers, just a lot of things pertaining to very similar topics.

I have not done a master cylinder swap of the type you are proposing, so can't offer any insight there.

You could possibly just change the right fork leg, but please note that the single disc and dual disc rotors are different sizes.

Not sure anybody would notice it by just looking, but the dual rotors are just a bit smaller than the singles.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride
    Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
    (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment

You must have the T model.
      I do not know all the specifics of your bike, but if you have 35mm forks you can switch out the lowers or the whole fork legs to a 750L model.
      Your front rim is ready to accept the duel disk from a L model unless you have spokes.
      You would need the hardware bolts and bolt keepers.
      There is a cover over the holes on the side without the disk on your bike.