Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hagon shocks too stiff? (No, I'm just a noob)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hagon shocks too stiff? (No, I'm just a noob)

I got a set of Hagon shocks from Dave Quinn. They're pretty uncomfortable on less than perfect roads - jarring, to put it lightly. Dave Quinn said he could change the springs to a lower spring rate, but commented that people find the softer springs unfavorable. The shocks I have match the Hagon specs, they weren't customized or anything. They spec the springs for 160-210lb riders and I'm at 180. Z1 notes on their site that Suzuki factory springs are 2 spring rate levels below what Hagon specs for my bike, so somewhere in the middle sounds right to me.

Has anyone had experience with lighter than stock springs from Hagon? What can I expect from softer springs - what is it that people don't like?

FWIW, the shocks sag about 1/2" under the weight of the bike, and another 1/2" with me on it.

Edit/Update:
    I was actually bottoming out on the shocks. There is a rubber bump-stop on the main rod - if you slide it down, you can check it after you ride to see how much the shock is moving. It turns out I was using the whole range of the shock. I don't have much riding experience, and 99% has been on 2 Suzukis from 1982, so I admit I just had no idea what a good suspension felt like.
    Last edited by Guest; 07-26-2016, 09:27 PM.

My Hagons are bone shattering too. It's not the spring rate as the sag is about right, they are just WAY OVERDAMPED. I found out after I bought them that they use the same shock body for the 850G and 1100GK as they do for the lighter bikes, they may ride nice with a half ton of metal riding on them but on the lighter bikes like my 550 they suck big time. Dave talks a nice line before the sale, but afterwards you are on your own.

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment