Hello from Indiana

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from Indiana

Hi there! I am new to the GS forum and so glad I found this place. I just purchased this 1981 GS550L for $100. The bike turns over but won't run. I have pulled the carbs off and ordered a rebuild kit for all four. I have already soda blasted all the carbs. I also replaced the coils and spark plug wires as the previous owner had them hacked up with the wrong boots and poor wire splicing. I look forward to getting this bike running and then tearing it down to properly turn it into a cafe racer. I just finished building a cafe racer for my 16 year old son from a 1969 Honda CL350. I really enjoyed building the bike. So much that I have decided to build one for myself from this GS. My daily rider is a KTM Duke 390. I look forward to meeting you all! IMG_5760(1).jpg
    1969 Honda CL350 Cafe
    1980 Suzuki GS550L cafe project Link
    2019 Yamaha MT-09
    2016 Honda CBR650F(wife’s bike)
    2001 Honda CBR600F4i(Son's bike)

Here is a picture of the 69 Honda CL350 my son and I just finished. IMG_5618.jpg
    1969 Honda CL350 Cafe
    2019 Yamaha MT-09

Comment

Hi Johnny and welcome to the forum. I haven't seen many, if any, posts from India.

You'll probably hear in short time to avoid carb rebuild kits and soda blasting them. Costly parts you won't likely need and blasting media getting stuck in tiny passages. Most around here use ultrasonic cleaners.

The cafe bike looks like a fun and challenging build. How does your son like riding it?
      Roger

Current rides
      1983 GS 850G
      1982 GS1100GK

https://visitedstatesmap.com/image/AZARCACOIDILINKSMONVNMOKTXUTWYsm.jpg Gone but not forgotten 1985 Rebel 250, 1991 XT225, 2004 KLR650, 1981 GS850G, 1982 GS1100GL, 2002 DL1000, 2005 KLR650, 2003 KLX400, 2003 FJR1300

Comment