New noises??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New noises??

Hello everyone, I'm a real newbie when it comes to working on motors so this might be a dumb question but after cleaning and reassembling the carbs and airbox everything is running fine, much better than before actually... except I hear what I can best imagine is a slapping noise coming from the cam chain area when I'm slowing down, its really bad in 4th, and the noise goes away as soon as I pull in the clutch. Each day I ride it gets progressively more apparent. I've been looking up a lot of info on cam chain tensioners as I thought it might be that but not sure if I'm on the right track, any ideas?

A slapping nosie while riding is more likely your drive chain

Does the bike make the noise when you put it on the centerstand, start it up and rev it?

If not, it's not the cam chain
    1978 GS 1000 (since new)
    1979 GS 1000 (The Fridge, superbike replica project)
    1978 GS 1000 (parts)
    1981 GS 850 (anyone want a project?)
    1981 GPZ 550 (backroad screamer)
    1970 450 Mk IIID (THUMP!)
    2007 DRz 400S
    1999 ATK 490ES
    1994 DR 350SES

Comment

Hi,

What bike are we talking about? Shaft drive or chain drive? GS300 or GS1150? Somewhere in between?

Have you?>>> New Members, CLICK HERE!!

Thank you for your indulgence,

BassCliff

Comment

Originally posted by Big T View Post
        A slapping nosie while riding is more likely your drive chain.
        I have never heard a slapping noise from any of my drive chains.

Oh, wait, I don't have any drive chains.

Can't make any assumptions, as the original poster has not yet disclosed what bike he is talking about.

Jerobi, how about going into the User CP section and adding your location, then making a signature that shows your bike.

sigpic
        mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
        hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler