chain noise when driving

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

chain noise when driving

hey everyone my name is Don. I live in white salmon Wa. this is my first time here and my first post, I met Charlie G in white salmon wa and he invited me to join so I figured I will make the best of it, so since im having some chain or chain noise issues I thought this would be a good start. here is the story. when my rig is in N the engine purs like a panther. but when I put it in gear and ease my cluch out it starts to make clunking noises in the front of my bike where the chain goes into the gear housing are ( not sure what the technical name for it is ) any one have this problem? what may cause it and how to fix it??
    I initially thought my wheel might be uneven In regards to my chain tension
    so I put it in gear and adjusted it until the noise went away and my tension marks were even and it did good for a few days. but what do ya know its back . I ride a GS110e with 12,000 miles on it. all original and put on by me.

Sounds like you need a new chain, and both new sprockets.

How worn are they? Pull the link halfway around the rear sprocket away from the sprocket. If it comes away much at all it's worn. Look at the o rings in the chain, I bet you will find half of them or more gone. Look at the sprocket teeth. I bet they are shaped a little bit like hooks. Put it on the centerstand, check the chain tension as you slowly rotate the wheel. I bet it gets tighter and looser as it goes around.

If you don't replace all three at the same time, the old parts will eat the new part fast.
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...tatesMap-1.jpg

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Ditto on the chain idea. You sure lucked out and met a good fella with Charlie G. He's one of the good ones that's for sure. Welcome to the site and lets see a picture of this bike
      Rob
      1983 1100ES, 98' ST1100, 02' DR-Z400E and a few other 'bits and pieces'