Giant noob here

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Giant noob here

Never really biked ever, but got an 80's GS550L from my landlord today. Got to taking the bike apart to give it a nice carb refresh (my uncle did a lot of motorcycle stuff, so I know the basics); I gave her a soak in some carb dip and de-gunked all of the passages and jets and such. Carb seems to be in good, working condition after a good rubdown. The bad side: I can't get the carb back on the bike... I spent 20 minutes getting it OFF, a "tutorial" I found on how to get it off basically had me heave it off of the air box boots and the intake boots, and due to the age and brittleness of the boots, I don't think I'm going to be able to get this thing back on without removing something.

It doesn't seem like there is a way to get the airbox off that would help me in any way, the 1-to-4 air supplier only detaches via 4 screws that I couldn't screw back on with the carbs in place, and the entire airbox itself is held on with a few phillips tabs. I stripped the hell out of one screw, but the other comes off fine. It doesn't seem like removing that would really help though, as the airbox would have maybe 1/2-1 inch of play to it if I removed it.

I've been toiling over the computer trying to find some info, but I've got nothing. I assume I've come to the right place.

TL;DR-- help me get my carbs back on my bike

"I've been toiling over the computer trying to find some info, but I've got nothing. I assume I've come to the right place."

Yep, you have. But tell us more. " 80's " ? so four seperate carbs, or two carbs with two throats each? The japanese didn't make it easy to get at things, but someone will show up and offer clues.
    Welcome to the world of 30 year old bike maintenance- I hope your uncle is still available, or at least has left you his patience!
    1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment