Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

gs750 E? LN? EN? igntion coil mounting

Hi,

I am replacing my ignition coils on my supposedly 1979 gs750. I'm not sure if it's an E/LN or anything like that, but I bought some NOS ignition coils for a 1979 gs750 LN and the mounting wasn't quite right. Is there a frame difference between the different models or years ('78, '79)?

I also wasn't quite sure if NOS meant anything specific. I was thinking it was a brand.

The ignition coil I pulled out says 7Q (which I'm still not sure what that means) 12V and there is maybe a part number: 029700. When I looked up the part number coils for a '78 gs750 came up.

The mounting distance between the center of each hole is about 4in.

Sorry, for all the questions I'm new to this and very frustrated! Thanks!

The Ebay ignition coils I bought were-> (http://www.ebay.com/itm/140725998003...9#ht_500wt_922)

The coils on my 650 have mounting bolt center to center of about 3 5/8 inch. Some 850 coils that I have have center to center of about 4 inch. The 650 coils have spade connectors- 850s have molded in wires.
    NOS = new old stock
    Some PO might have switch things.
    1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

The ignition coils I bought off of ebay had a mounting distance of a bout 3 5/8. Hmmm. They definitely aren't spade connectors the are the molded wires with the boots. Would I cause my self trouble with putting a 850 coil on a 750? Also do you have any clue about the 7Q that goes along with the voltage? I've seen some others with different letters and numbers. Thanks for the bit of info

Comment

I don't know what those numbers mean. Measure the resistance- maybe 4 to 5 ohm on primary side and about 30,000 on secondary side (plug cap to plug cap). Are your old coils bad ? - the originals seem very durable.