Trouble getting old bike to Start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trouble getting old bike to Start

I am new to the Suzuki scene and just acquired a 1982 GS850 with lots of potential.

The Bike had been sitting for 8-1o years so I put in a new battery, new spark plugs, K&N air filter, Cleaned the carbs replacing gaskets, poured out the old gas, and put in a little inline fuel filter.

When I try to start the bike it turns over and runs for about 3-5 seconds. The longest run time was about 1 minute. If I try to give it any throttle the bike dies out. For the short time it runs, it seems to be running strong and clean. It dont know if its getting to much gas or not enough, but the bowls are all filled up with gas and it seems like it wants to run, but just hasnt yet.

I was told maybe the stator might have gone from sitting for so long, but i have been trying to start it with and without a charger on it. I just cant troubleshoot the stator without the bike running. I dont know if the stator is another issue but I have been reading through the old Q&A's that last few days, Any help will be greatly appreciated, Thx alot.

Re: Trouble getting old bike to Start

Originally posted by ChopSuki
    I am new to the Suzuki scene and just acquired a 1982 GS850 with lots of potential.

The Bike had been sitting for 8-1o years so I put in a new battery, new spark plugs, K&N air filter, Cleaned the carbs replacing gaskets, poured out the old gas, and put in a little inline fuel filter.

When I try to start the bike it turns over and runs for about 3-5 seconds. The longest run time was about 1 minute. If I try to give it any throttle the bike dies out. For the short time it runs, it seems to be running strong and clean. It dont know if its getting to much gas or not enough, but the bowls are all filled up with gas and it seems like it wants to run, but just hasnt yet.