Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Fuel drip problems - on the right track?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fuel drip problems - on the right track?

Hi all. I've been lurking since buying a 1978 GS750 just over a month ago. Been using the forum alot to help me get through a host of problems and like all others, find the info. invaluable.

I'm really making good progress on the bike. It wasn't running, then was running rough and now is getting pretty close. With just a bench sync, 2 of 3 plugs are a nice color and I'm closing in on the the last 2 two plugs on carbs 1 & 2. I will wrench on most anything, though I have no experience. I've taken the carbs apart and cleaned everything but the pilot jet since that one was painted in.

I'd like to bounce my thoughts off you all and see if I"m heading in the right direction:
    1. I'm getting way too much fuel delivered. After going for a brief ride, No.2 carb drips at a rate of 1/sec. on the side stand and dumps a solid squirt of gas when on the center. I've ridden the bike and tested the petcock in all positions and found that on PRI I'll flood the bike out and get alot of gas dripping from No.2. While in the ON position, the bike will starve and die. While in RES, the bike runs great though No.2 will still drip. I think I need to rebuild the existing petcock or go to the pingel??

2. Next I'm confused if the petcock is responsible for all my problems with too much gas to No.2 or does it also sound like I have a possible float problem with that carb? I don't have anything to compare it to, but the float needle looks clean and seems to operate ok. Finally, with all the fuel dumping, should I worry it's in the oil?

Ok, nuff for now. Don't want to wear out my welcome. Thanks guys.

Sounds like a petcock. check and see if there is fuel in your vacuum hose of the petcock. If there is get a new one or rebuild it.