Off the Deep End

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Off the Deep End

So I can't avoid it any more-its official, I can't rely on pro mechanics to maintain my '81 GS650G anymore, they just won't spend the time. Just dropped $150 for absolutely no improvement. No. 2 cylinder not firing, still. Everything else OK, carb blockage methinks.

Hoped to avoid any major work til winter. Ain't gonna happen, so here I go. Carbs will have to come off and be rebuilt. Daunting task to me, I'm an architect, not an engineer. I don't want to end up with my bike in three bushel baskets going on EBay for ten bucks.

Still, there's lots of good info here including the GS Carb Cleaning and Repair Pictorial and I have the manual, so wish me luck. Here we go-Wheeeee.

Don't get intimidated. I bought my first bike about a month ago and it was running like complete crap. About a week of reading, finding this forum, and preparing and I yanked the carbs out and cleaned them myself. I got a carb rebuild kit online, bought a bucket of chem dip, couple can of carb cleaner, and ordered two new air box boots.

I got everything back together Saturday and took it around the back streets to make sure everything got back together right. I bought insurance and got my plate yesterday and went out for an all day ride and had an amazing time.

If I can do it so you can you! The hardest part is probably going to be getting the carbs back on the bike to be honest, that part made me want to dump the bike in the driveway and go have a beer or ten.

I knew nothing about bikes when I got mine and have always been a computer guy seeing as its what I do for a living but I got through it and everything came out great in the end thanks to the wonderful people on this forum. If you have questions don't be afraid to ask there will always be someone here to help.

Comment

Originally posted by Flaggo60 View Post
      Daunting task to me, I'm an architect, not an engineer.