78 GS 550 stalls at stops - Im a new mechanic

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

78 GS 550 stalls at stops - Im a new mechanic

Background -1978 GS 550, bought two weeks ago, running well. Since then changed oil (and pan), changed clutch cable, when I first got it my friend adjusted the idle down, hasn't been a problem until now.
    The bike has 4-1 headers and I believe the air box was replaced with pod filters, there are 4 cheap looking filters on the carb. I get a rattle (like tin pans tapping together on a bumpy road) at 6k rpms, I think it needs a valve adjust. I'm sure there is more to tell, but thats what I know for now.

Problem - When I pull to a stop in gear with the clutch in, it will idle down and die. If I switch gears to neutral, it holds it's idle better, but will still sometimes die.

Thanks for any help.

Mark

Just read the next post
    Last edited by cloudbreakmd; 07-29-2008, 04:24 PM. Reason: Because I didn't realize it only when clutched at idle.
    2010 Honda VFR1200F
    1983 Suzuki GS750T (sold)
    Being Revisited
    1981 Honda CM400T
    http://www.bikepics.com/members/cloudbreakmd/

Comment

Let's try this;

1. It's seen like you need to adjust your clutch a bit more. It is not engage all the way in.
      2. Adjust the idle a little higher when the bike is in neutral.

Hope this helps.

Comment

Oh hum.....

Originally posted by markdjr View Post
        Background -1978 GS 550, bought two weeks ago, running well. Since then changed oil (and pan), changed clutch cable, when I first got it my friend adjusted the idle down, hasn't been a problem until now.
        The bike has 4-1 headers and I believe the air box was replaced with pod filters, there are 4 cheap looking filters on the carb. I get a rattle (like tin pans tapping together on a bumpy road) at 6k rpms, I think it needs a valve adjust. I'm sure there is more to tell, but thats what I know for now.Mark