95 gsxr750 front end on a 1982 gs1100e

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

95 gsxr750 front end on a 1982 gs1100e

whats up guys? I am new to the gs world. I was wondering if it is possible to but a 95 gsxr750 front end on my 82 gs1100e, and if so, is it a good idea?

Thomas,

welcome, sir. There are several guys who have 82/83 1100s here. I happen to be one of them! I am doing a gsxr swap with a complete set up from an 88 gsxr1100. I do believe that any pre USD gsxr forks are straight bolt on swaps, since the steering head bearings are the same size for both those bikes. Some here have USD forks on their GS's as well. If you switch the front, be sure to do the same to the rear...You don't want to run a radial front tire and bias ply in the rear. I am going to use my stock swing arm and and the 88 gixxer rear rim and brakes. Heck, if you want it, I have the 88 swing arm and chain adjustment stuff that goes with it. You can have it for the price of shipping. It is just taking up space in my garage. Needs swing arm bearings though. Just do a search thru the tech and performance archives. You should find tons of great info there, including a thread which contains a pretty extensive list of combinations which are compatible from different bikes.

GOOD LUCK\\/

Mike
    Mike

1982 GS1100EZ

Text messages with my youngest brother Daniel right after he was paralyzed:

Me: Hey Dan-O. Just wanted to say howdy & love ya!

Dan-O: Howdy and Love you too. Doing good, feeling good.

Me: Give 'em hell, Little Bro!

Dan-O: Roger that! :)

Comment